The PCOS diet

A few months ago, I wrote about how I tried the ketogenic diet for weight loss. It only lasted 2 weeks as I gained 5 kilograms during that time.

Since then, I have done some more research about the effects of ketosis on PCOS and found that it can be very beneficial on women suffering from symptoms.

I have decided to give it another go but this time I will be following the PCOS diet guidelines and I won’t be focusing on weight loss as much.

Foods to avoid:

  • High GI foods: Cake, biscuits, white bread, pasta and rice etc.
  • Sugary drinks: Soft drinks, fruit juices and cordial.
  • Dairy: Milk, cheese, butter etc.
  • Soy
  • Caffeine (!?)
  • Alcohol
  • Fast food in general.

Foods to include:

  • Vegetables: especially green leafy veggies as they are high in vitamins.*limit starchy veggies such as potatoes*
  • Low GI fruits: apples,watermelon, oranges , blueberries etc.
  • Healthy fats: avocado, nuts, seeds, tuna and salmon.
  • Protein: organic and hormone free is best.

 Supplements to consider:

  • Vitamin D: known to improve insulin resistance.
  • Fish oil: known to decrease testosterone levels.
  • Inositol: some what of a magic pill. Known to improve hormonal balance, insulin resistance and gestational diabetes.

I have a feeling I will do a lot better on this regime as its more about sticking to the good foods list rather than trying to work out fat, carb and protein ratios.

Author: Dashlen's Journey

I'm Ash and welcome to Our journey to Parenthood with PCOS. I have started this blog to share my story with others who might be going through the same struggle. I'll be writing about everything that happens between now and (fingers crossed!!) the day we bring home our little miracle and maybe even beyond that. Who knows! I hope you enjoy! 

2 thoughts on “The PCOS diet”

  1. I haven’t tried keto diet plan as it’s too restricted and wonder how body works once I stop dieting. The guidelines what you have mentioned is perfect as I do the same and add few more things here and there. Good luck. We can do it. 🙂 xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

