My HSG Experience

After waiting 6 weeks for my cycle to start, I called the hospital and explained that due to my PCOS I could possibly be waiting another few months, I was definitely not pregnant and I just wanted to get it over with. They said as long as I tested negative on the day I was good to go so they booked me in for the following week.

The day of the HSG had finally arrived… and i was scared out of my skin!
I, like so many other women, had made the mistake of googling the procedure.

When we arrived at the hospital, we only had to wait a few minutes before my name was called. I was told my husband and my Mum could come with me and i started to feel a bit more at ease. We were led to another waiting and told the doctor would come and get us soon.

Twenty minutes later, a nurse came to get me. She told my family that they would have to wait in the first waiting room and she would come and get them when it was over. I nearly had a panic attack.

After getting changed into a hospital gown and taking a ( negative ) pregnancy test, i was led into a massive white sterile room with a bed in the middle of it. I laid down and was introduced the techs while they opened all the medical stuff and we waited for the doctors.

Once the doctors arrived, they explained the procedure, answered my questions and it was time to begin…

First, the doctor cleaned me, ( which was one of the weirdest experiences of my life) and inserted a speculum…and then a different speculum. He then disinfected my cervix and started inserting the catheter through my cervix and into my uterus.

At first it stung but he quickly started inflating the attached balloon, which resulted in the worst menstrual type cramps i have ever experienced times 20!
Once the dye was pushed through i felt alot of pressure but watching myself on the xray distracted me. I just kept thinking ” This is not as bad as labour will be. Just think of the babies”, and then it was over! The procedure itself only took about fifteen minutes but the prep took around an hour so i was keen to let my family know i was okay.

After i got dressed, the nurse walked me to the bathroom. I was still in a lot of pain at this point and as i walked out of the bathroom i had an overwhelming feeling that i was going to faint. The nurse noticed this, pulled me into a room, sat me down and went to find a wheelchair. She said she literally watched the colour drain from my face.

When the nurse came back, she wheeled me to the recovery room and went to get my family.
After taking pain killers and waiting the mandatory 30 minutes, it was time to go home!

All in all, it was the longest, most painful, exhausting day of my life but i wouldn’t change it for the world. Now i know that i can do anything if i want it bad enough and my fallopian tubes are cleared out.

The doctor said that in the 3 cycles following the HSG i will be very fertile. It’s been 2 weeks and i’m still waiting for my cycle to start.

Here’s hoping the doctor was right and i get pregnant this year!

Author: Dashlen's Journey

I'm Ash and welcome to Our journey to Parenthood with PCOS. I have started this blog to share my story with others who might be going through the same struggle. I'll be writing about everything that happens between now and (fingers crossed!!) the day we bring home our little miracle and maybe even beyond that. Who knows! I hope you enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

