I’m going Keto?

I am the biggest sugar/carb addict out of everyone i know, so this is going to be really hard but *hopefully* so worth it!

What is a Keto Diet?

A ketogenic or “Keto” Diet isn’t really a diet but more of a way of thinking about food.
I, like a lot of other people, were taught that carbs = good and fat = bad but Keto teaches us to flip everything we think we know about food.

Eating keto forces our bodies into a state known as Ketosis ,which basically means that our bodies use our fat storage as an energy source rather than the carbs we eat.

This diet consists of first working out our Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR) which is basically how many calories (or kilo joules) we burn while going about our everyday lives.

You can work that out by using an online BMR calculator such as the one that i used.
My BMR result was 2075 kilo calories.

The next step is to work out your macro percentages, you can do this on the online calculator I used to work out my BMR.
According to my daily calories intake, my diet should consist of ; 6% Carbohydrates, 22% Protein and 72% Fat. It then goes onto to say that if i stick to this specific diet for 1 month i will have lost 2 kg. That might not seem like a lot but with PCOS every kilo counts!!

 

Author: Dashlen's Journey

I'm Ash and welcome to Our journey to Parenthood with PCOS. I have started this blog to share my story with others who might be going through the same struggle. I'll be writing about everything that happens between now and (fingers crossed!!) the day we bring home our little miracle and maybe even beyond that. Who knows! I hope you enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

