So far this year… 

After being diagnosed with pcos in October 2014, my husband and I decided that we would try the old “relax and see what happens” method. Needless to say it didn’t work out for us.

In February 2016, I was put back onto birth control to try and regulate my non existent cycles. It. Was. Hell.  It was like being a 25 year old in a teenagers body. Ugh.

After doing a lot of research, I told my doctor I wanted to give metformin a go. She admitted she didn’t have much experience with pcos but agreed it was worth a shot.

In June, I swapped my birth control for what many women describe as a “miracle cure “.

I had myself convinced that June was our month. Every twinge and bubble meant something. On day fifty of my cycle I woke up in agony. Off to emergency we go, and after six hours of waiting, I was told I had an ovarian cyst “the size of a mandarin”.

Back at the doctors, and we both came to the same conclusion. Whether the metformin caused the cyst or not, it wasn’t worth risking it again.

Back to square one.

Author: Dashlen's Journey

I'm Ash and welcome to Our journey to Parenthood with PCOS. I have started this blog to share my story with others who might be going through the same struggle. I'll be writing about everything that happens between now and (fingers crossed!!) the day we bring home our little miracle and maybe even beyond that. Who knows! I hope you enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

